Sony DRU-800A burning problem with Taio Yuden DVD+R

My first time on this forum and I’m a relative newbie when it comes to using advanced DVD testing methods, so please forgive me if I don’t post all the required info.

Just got myself a pack of 50 Taio Yuden (YUDEN000T02 TG000041) DVD+R with great difficulty coz I had heard such great things about it.

My burner is a Sony DRU-800A flashed with Codeguys’ KC4B firmware. It is 3 years old and recently developed a problem of its tray closing automatically after it has been ejected.

I tried to burn some data on the DVD+Rs when they arrived. I had never used DVD+R media upto this point and all my media had been Moser Baer/HP DVD-R.

The first TY DVD+R disc burnt fine with Nero 8, multisession turned off and speed 8x. I had verify written data checked and the results were fine. However once the disc ejected and I reinserted it, Windows XP showed it as blank. Nero Discspeed and Infotool strangely showed the Disc as a “DVD+RW” although they could read the Media ID correctly. Also Discspeed could not do a test as it showed a “Failed to begin test” or some similar error.

I restarted the PC and tried to burn another TY DVD+R. It too burnt perfectly but showed exactly the same results as above when I reinserted the DVD. Windows XP could not read it and Nero Infotool and Discspeed identified it as DVD+RW and refused to test it.

I tried using ISOBuster to access both these DVDs and it gave me some error like “No files or folders present, only a track/session layout” or something similar. It was worded differently but I did not note it down then.

Then I tried to read an old DVD-R to see if the drive was working properly. Windows XP could read the DVD-R perfectly. I reinserted my DVD+Rs which could not be read earlier and this time Windows XP could read it and I could access the files on both of these.

I used Nero Discspeed to test the quality of both the DVD+Rs and I got the following results.

Disc 1 (Taio Yuden DVD+R)