Sony CRX230EE will only burn at 12x

Hi All,

Apologies I am new to this. Just got a new sony CRX230ee (cd-rw drive) and installed the hardware without too many probs (apart from one BSOD about ‘not enough irp stacks’ which seemed to fix itself). The drive is defaulted to 40x burn and read speeds. I use Nero 6 to burn and it recognises the drives speeds. However whenever I insert media to burn to it will only burn at 12x? obviously would like to be able to use the 40x possible burn speed (52x when turbo). The media says it is ok upto 52x and I’ve tried afew different kinds, same prob. Tried media in other PC’s and allows full speed burn. Can anyone help?

Hi and welcome to forum!
What discs are you using?

Hi and welcome!

Is this always the same brand of discs you are trying? As you can forget about that advertizing on the box of media claiming “up to 100x speed”, please get Nero CD/DVD Speed (you already have it if Nero is installed on your computer), run it, insert a blank disc and check the “Disc Info” tab. Post the result here.

The firmware of any CD or DVD writer contains a table of supported media, and there is also stored, what speed can be used on them. So either your writer will support these discs only at 12x (that’s a sign of rather poor quality) or the media is unsupported, and will only be written at a default “fail safe” speed, which might be 12x in your case.
In both case, a firmware update might help.

Michael

Hi Michael,