Somewhat newbie LTR-40125S questions

vbimport

Hi all. I have 3 questions I would like to ask the group. I purchased a LTR-40125S last week to upgrade my old Plextor 12/4/32 SCSI burner. I've been using SCSI burners since 1998 and just joined the IDE world last week, alas I have 3 questions to ask:

1) When burning with an IDE drive, does it significantly slow down the computer? While burning a cd today with the LTR-40125S I tried to open up Internet Explorer and it took forever. This never happend with my SCSI burners, is this just a thing with IDE or do I have something configured wrong?

2) Which firmware shoud I be using. The drive was shipped with ZSOA. Should I upgrade to ZSOJ from the lite-on site? I've looked around some on this site, but I'm somewhat confused with all of the overclocking firmwares and such. So basically my question is what firmware should I use if I do NOT want to overclock. Also what firmware should I use if I would like to flash to the W model (but not 48x)?

3) How does one determine the average write speed in Nero? Is there a way to show graphs of how the cd was written?

Thanks for any insight into my questions.

Originally posted by mattrz28
[B]Hi all. I have 3 questions I would like to ask the group. I purchased a LTR-40125S last week to upgrade my old Plextor 12/4/32 SCSI burner. I’ve been using SCSI burners since 1998 and just joined the IDE world last week, alas I have 3 questions to ask:

1. When burning with an IDE drive, does it significantly slow down the computer? While burning a cd today with the LTR-40125S I tried to open up Internet Explorer and it took forever. This never happend with my SCSI burners, is this just a thing with IDE or do I have something configured wrong?

[/b]

In short, yes. Explorer polls all drives and if one has a disk in it it will take some time to start spinning, hence the wait.

It can also depend on how the burner is connected on the IDE chain.

[B]