Some of my burnt DVD's no longer recognised

vbimport

Hi,

Please help if you can, I am stuck with this one and I have lost quite a lot of data!

I have been burning data dvd’s for a few years.

I have used various media. I started off on cheap discs and decided on TDK Scratchproofs in the end as they seemed the most resistant option.

The DVDs were all kept in a safe place (a metal carry case)

I have recently gone to access some of my burnt dvd’s to retrieve the data off them.

The cheap bulkpaq and datawrite still work no problems.

However, whilst some of the TDK Scratchproof work ok, a few (maybe quite a lot i have checked them all yet) are no longer recognised in the drive.

It is not the drive as i have tried the fautly disks in several drives. I even went out and bought a plextor to see if that would have more success in recognising them, which it didn’t

The thing is i know the DVDs burnt succesfully to start with as i always check after burning (i create a md5 of the data before burning and check the data is all ok after burning with the md5, as well as using nero verification)

These problematic discs are no more than a year or 2 old.

I cannot retrieve the manufacturers code as the discs arent recongised.

In my LG Drive (the one i burnt them on) the drive makes some noise, but in my computer it appears that the drive is still empty.

In my new plextor drive (px800a) it crashes the my computer window (window appears as a white box) until i take the disc out

If anyone knows about the TDK Scratchproof, they changed the design a while back. All the discs with the new design are the ones with the problem.

I think i got them from ebuyer.

I think the older tdk scratchproof that are ok were media code tdk 002

and the newer ones with faults are tth02

I can safely say i will never trust tdk media again. Also i will always keep HD backups from now on.

I have my eye on these discs for next time.

http://svp.co.uk/products-solo.php?pid=3553