Some noob questions

First of, I am completely new to all of this type of stuff and would like a bit more information. I hope you can help.

I have DVD Dycypter, DVD Shrink, and IFO Edit.

First Question: I have a standalone DVD recorder which can record to DVD RAM. I also have a DVD Reader/Writer in my computer which can also do DVD RAM. Now, I would like to be able to record TV shows onto DVD RAM and then use my computer to edit the comercials out. Then, I would like to be able to burn this to a DVD-R disc to play on my standalone. What is the best program that would allow me to take commericals/scenes out of files from a DVD RAM disc?

Second Question: Is there some sort of software that allows me to ‘close’ a DVD-R disc? For example, if I burn a disc using DVD Dycrypter and try to play it on my older stanalone that plays DVD Video discs and not DVD-R discs, but I am able to play it on my player that can play DVD-R discs. This is understandable, at first to me, but when I record to a DVD-R disc on my stanalone player and tell the machine to close the disc, I am able to play it on my older machine. So, is there a way or a piece of software that will allow me to I guess, make a DVD-R disc into a DVD-Video disc?

I’m sorry if these are really basic questions and if they have been asked thousands of times in the future, but I really am a n00b.

Thanks in advance.

Welcome to the forum

For this you need a dvd authoring progra like TMPGEnc DVD Author. With this you can import a video dvd and cut all undesidered sequences, add-remove chapters, and edit menus.

A disc burned with dvd decrypter should be already finalized. If your old standalone player don’t recognize the disc, probably is a media issue. What discs do you use?

Anyway with nero should be possible to close an open session and finalize the disc.

Thanks for the fast reply. I will definetly look into that software. Are there any freeware programs that will do the same thing?