SOLVED ! Reviving a dead BTC 1004IM

Dear all out there,

first of all, I’m a newbie in this forum.

Second, I just killed my brandnew BTC 1004IM. I had a number of problems toasting DVD-RW (TDK and Verbatim brands with Nero v6.0.0.23) and decided that updating the drive from firmware v40 to v43 might help.

It was reported before in this forum that the BTC Windows flashing package did not always work like it should, so after hitting a brick wall there also, I tried MTKFLASH 1.80.1 after booting my box from a vanilla DOS diskette. Backup of the existing firmware worked like a charm, so I thought flashing was safe enough. MTKFLASH pretended to do its job, reported success and asked for a reboot.

What happened was that upon reboot the BTC drive had completely disappeared from the BIOS, and nothing I did made it come back. I tried reflashing to v40, tried the Dangerous Brothers’ rpc1 firmware (dual43.bin), tried the hot plugging method suggested by Marco in another thread, but alas, all to no avail.

Now I must admit that I’m at my wits end. Has anyone here some more ideas or is scrapping the drive the only thing left to do?

Thanks in advance for any input.

Regards, Martin

You can try what I said here

I hope it could help

@Raistlin[ITA]

I saw your post after I had written mine and tried your suggestion. Unfortunately, it didn’t work for me - at least not yet (perhaps it will still, up to now I’ve tried only two of the three available jumper positions).

@all