SOHW-1633S slower than it used to be?

Hi all, I’m new to DVD burning though I used to burn a LOT of CD’s back in the day.

I got a SOHW-1633S a few months ago. Didn’t use it much at first. Then I burned about 10-20 discs (data, DVD video, a few games). They were all Mitsui 8X discs, and they always took about 15 minutes to write in Nero (even though Nero said it was burning at 8X and would only take 7 minutes). It also took the same amount of time (15 minutes) to read a full DVD to my HDD.

Then, all of a sudden, it started taking 25 minutes to write a full disc, and it also now takes 25 minutes to READ a full disc (really weird that reading and writing would slow down at same time). I did not change media brand or anything. I also started getting coasters somewhat frequently which never happened before. I switch to Taiyo Yuden blanks, and the same thing is happening (very slow burn speed, around 2.4x by my mathm and very slow read speeds as well). CD’s still seem to read/write fast enough that I’m not trying to figure out what the numbers are, but all I know is 25 minutes is way too long to read or write a disc. I am also still getting coasters (~25% of the time) with the Taiyo Yuden blanks. I could be wrong, but I’m pretty sure this has nothing to do with the media I’m using. Something changed in either the drive or my PC. I do have a SFF (small form factor) PC that gets very hot and has been acting weird in other ways lately (I think I’m due for a reformat soon). My video card also stopped working recently, I think I fried it. Probably not relevant but just wanted to make it clear my PC is screwy in many aspects.

Any ideas? :confused: Thanks!

DMA enabled in your IDE driver for the burner?