SOHW-1213s not reading media

Recently, my 1213s has decided that it doesn’t want to read blank dvd+r media. It may not read other formats, but i don’t have any to test. It read the very same discs, and i have already burned a couple dvds.

when i put in a disc, the green light stays on constantly and i can hear it sporadicly spinning and the lens attempting to focus.

It reads retail dvd’s and cd’s, as well as cd-r’s.

I have the newest (afaik) firmware, TS0D. I have also tried TS0C to no avail.

Also, which seems strange to me, windows (xp pro) tells me that it is the slave drive, and is running UDMA2 (ultra 33). I am using the nvidia ATA drivers (v2.5).

I am new to the world of DVD burners, my last burner only did 4xCD-R and didn’t even read DVDs, so even the obvious could help me. Thanks.

I switched to the windows ide drivers rather than the nvidia ones, still no improvement. i also tried switching from dma to pio, still the same.

ok, i tried to burn a blank cd-r today and it doesn’t recognize it, although the green light does eventually go out, unlike the dvd.

surely someone has some idea what’s wrong with it.

What is your system setup? How do you have the drive installed?

Did you use Omnipatcher to mess with firmware, if so you have to use 1.3.11 to disable flash light after patching.
Also 1233s is genuine ultraDMA 2 at 33 , so I don’t see strange things about that.
If you change firmware to BS0G or any of 1633s than you will be able to see UDMA 4 at 66.Also remember IDE cable must be 80 pin not 40 to work with UDMA 4
I use nVIDIA 2.5 ide drivers and works flawless.
Explain please ,
what you did with firmware before you notice problems with your drive?

LiteOn tech support says there is a bug in SP2 that is causing the drive to flake out.
Just read at another thread…
MS IDE driver causing problems…hm…

I have similar problems and I’ve tried the Intel and MS drivers to no avail.