Software or burner?

I have been using dvd fab for a few months now with great success. When I installed version 3.1.4.0 I started having a problem. I am using win xp with a sony dru-820a burner. The dvd’s seem to rip just fine maybe a tad bit slower that with the previous version but nothing alarming. The burn however is a lot slower. It will start the burn fine with good speed when it reaches about 4 minutes remaining it starts dropping its burn speed about .02 to .03 mb/s at a time until it finally drops to a snail like 1.7 mb/s. In short when it says I have 4 minutes remaining I have about 10 minutes or longewr remaining. When the discs finish burning they have 2 or 3 difinitive “burn rings” where as before it was a good solid burn (one ring visible at the end). The dvd’s seem to still play ok, for now anyway. I didn’t know if there is a possible software problem or if it is a burner problem. I greatly appreciate any help. Thanks

Hi goose and welcome to the forum,
Maybe you could go back to the previous version. If the problem still exists you should have your answer or at least have a little more to go on.

Hey goose, latest version is 3.1.4.5 beta, also what media are you using? in common settings set write speed to 8x or 12x…post a log… :slight_smile:

Hi goose and welcome to DVD Fab. Have you updated the firmware on your burner lately ? How long have you had the burner? I used 3.1.4.0 and didn’t have any problams backing up movie’s. Sounds like a burner issue. Like tOnee1 mentioned, post a burn log. And, how does the finished copy play with the burn rings ? Any skips, or playback flaws? Low quality media doesn’t have great dye and may run thin which will cause problems. Stick with Verbatim or Ty’s. ~ Mike