So long for now Plextor, best alternative?

Okay, I’m not going for the thread of the year here. But I do think this can be of interest to other users also.

I have 210GB worth of HDD space, and I can’t remember the last time I had 10GB of free space. I can’t keep up with burning CD’s anymore, and it’s too time consuming…time to buy my first DVD writer, I thought.

Now, originally I was planning on buying myself a Plextor DVD+R writer, because I’ve always been very happy with my PX-W4012 and the service Plextor has offered me in the past has been excellent too. Plus it is said that most Plextor drives offer very good writing quality, and that’s what interests me most. I’m not an engineer, so all I can do is take other people’s word for it.
I almost went and buy a PX-712A. The reviews looked good. But when I searched on the forums here, I saw that a lot of people had problems with it. So I decided to wait for the upcoming PX-716A.
Now it’s here and it seems this drive has even more issues than the previous one, although admitted…there’s no ‘professional’ review yet, or any statement from Plextor on this matter (then again, the ‘pro’ reviews of the PX-712A didn’t mention its problems either).

So…what drive to buy then? I’m not willing to wait yet another 3 (?) months for Plextor to sort out their problems, I’m in need of an alternative and burn quality is the most important factor, price is not really an issue.
I’ll be using Plextor spindles of Taiyo Yuden DVD+R’s, and writing speed isn’t really important. I’m not really the type of person who goes quali checking every disc he burns, but I still like my grand kids to be able to use them. :wink: (hell, when that time comes we’ll all be using holo cubes)

According to you, the more experienced users, which drive will suit my needs best?

I hope I posted this in the right forum.
Kind regards.

I,m not an expert but reading through the threads looks like benq
is a good drive.