SmartBlu Silver Lacquer Hub 25GB BD-R Stuck Together In Spindle

vbimport

Howdy,

I’ve been using SmartBlu 25GB BD-R Media for six months and have been very happy with them.

http://www.mediamegamall.com/smartblu-bluray-disc-25gb-silver-lacquer-print-25pk-cakebox-sbr4ssh25-p-27685.html?osCsid=58c34e1ea58718b5c41564f4f267a90b

Last night while preparing to burn a few BD-R discs, I grabbed my spindle of SmartBlu discs and to my surprise, two discs were stuck together.

I was able to safely separate them without scratching the discs.

However, I’ve noticed that the disc on the top has some non-removable residue stuck on its on it’s play/burn side. Should I toss this disc?

Has anyone else had a similar issue with SmartBlu media?

Milan

Non removable residue? I take it you’ve tried cleaning it with alcohol already.

You could take it to a dvd rental shop and get the bottom surface re-polished for a small fee, but it would cost more than what you paid for the disk originally.

I wouldn’t try to burn it without doing something to remove the residue. It is possible to polish a disk by hand if you have the right abrasives and a fair amount of patience, but it is a lot of trouble for one disk.

I personally haven’t seen any such residue or stuck together disks in my Smart-Blu BD-R spindles.

Kerry,

Thank you for the quick reply!

I haven’t tried to remove the residue yet.
To me the residue looks like a stain from a liquid spill and it covers about 1/4th of the disc.

The top layer of the disc that the flawed BD-R was stuck to has no damage or residue.

I do have a motorized disc repair/cleaning kit.
I’ll try my luck with that unit soon, and report my findings.

Don’t want to spend too much time on salvaging this disc, as it has a value of $1.00.

Milan