Small record stores almost half in 10 years due to hard times

I just posted the article Small record stores almost half in 10 years due to hard times.

In a  period of just 10 years, the number of small independent record stores fell from  5,000 to just 2,800 as a result of diminishing sales and customers.   One popular store in New...
Read the full article here:  [http://www.cdfreaks.com/news/11355-Small-record-stores-almost-half-in-10-years-due-to-hard-times.html](http://www.cdfreaks.com/news/11355-Small-record-stores-almost-half-in-10-years-due-to-hard-times.html)

Feel free to add your comments below. 

Please note that the reactions from the complete site will be synched below.

I hate going to record shops now. You have to look through the racks etc and I have a somewhat obscure taste in music so they never have what I want. If I go to Amazon, Play etc just type the name in and its there. I think its more a reflection of the hugely diverse taste of today’s music consumer. I mean Beatles bootlegs???
[edited by vdown on 09.01.2006 01:04]

one of my old friend had a small records store, but he closed it a year ago. his main problem was keeping the inventory. many of his customers were looking for records from very popular recent releases to not so popular ones & he did not have enough space nor fund to get all. another major problem was the price of records. the records distributors were asking him as much as retail walmart prices for popular titles & he was also forced to buy not so popular ones to get “rebates” he told me he could not just compete with stores like bestbuy & walmart i don’t know if the rebates are world wide phenominon, but in usa, this rebate things are causing tons of headaches & most electronics/tech stuffs are coming with rebate offers.:frowning: