Slow CD Ripping

I’m new to audio CD ripping, and am looking to back up my CD collection. I am using Winamp 5.24 Pro to rip my CD’s, and it’s so slow! I’m ripping at 2x for some reason, the whole disc through, even though I set it to read at 8x, I’ve even tried unlimited. I have an NEC-3540A DVD-RW, latest firmware, clean windows install just yesterday. I’m new to this, and I’ve heard stuff about spin-up times or something like that. How do I increase my speed? I don’t need really fancy programs like Exact Audio Copy, I’d like to stick to the simplicity of winamp, is there any way to increase the read speed?
Any help is appreciated.

from winamp’s website

“Note: To rip CDs at speeds greater than 2x, you must purchase Winamp Pro.”

I am using Winamp Pro version 5.24, I don’t think that’s the problem.

whoops. i missed that part.

in that case have you set the burn speed in the preferences? i believe 2x is the default…

Yes, as I mentioned earlier I have tried everything between 8x and unlimited x. I’m at a loss as to what it could be.

what encoder are you using? i found this note on their FAQs

"Slow ripping speeds with lame_enc.dll v3.96 on lower end systems.
Downgrade to lame_enc.dll v3.90.3 or upgrade (recommended) to 3.97b "

also are your quality and bitrate settings reasonable? very high quality = longer encoding time

Hi,

why not use another ripper like CDEX or EAC?

Michael

also this thread may or may not be relevant
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=240138&highlight=slow+ripping

I am using the built in MP3 Encoder 1.3 in Winamp. High VBR 192-320. I understand that encoding may take some time, but my system is pretty up to date. I still don’t think it should go at 2x. But like I said, I’m new to this so I don’t really know what I’m talking about. I will try CDEX to compare speeds, maybe it is just clunky old winamp. I’ll post my results here.