Sloooow Ripping speeds HELP ? :(

I recently have changed quite a few things on my Computer, clean install of Win 2k and also a new dvd burner lite-on 401s i believe. my prob is now that i have it all up and running again i tried ripping a DVD previously i had rip times of like 7x -9x and could rip a dvd in usually less than 10 minutes give or take this was with a lite-on 16x reader ( which was master and is now slave ) I am getting same slow ripping no matter what drive dvd is in. also tried smartripper and it is about the same spead i am getting like 1.3x now and havn’t botherd actually ripping a whole disk i think it would take well over an hour. :frowning: i was using Win 2k server OS before but dont see how that would change it.

any advice or help would be greatly apreciated :slight_smile:

thanks

charles

PS i am fairly new to all this ripping and burning stuff so count that in to your thoughts it might be something real simple i am just missing ??

Have you checked to make sure that DMA is enabled for the drive? Might you have forgot to install the latest drivers for your motherboard?

ok I feel silly now :slight_smile: It was the DMA , i thought i had checked it before but must have clicked on the primary one twice.:rolleyes: so yes its fixed now :slight_smile: :slight_smile: thank you very much Dave !!:bow:

charles:

Where do you check for DMA enabled? In BIOS?

@Charles D…what program do you use to rip DVDs??

I have only used smartripper so I dont know what else is good.

Thanks

You can check DMA by doing the following:

1. Go to the Device Manager
  2. Find your IDE Controllers.
  3. Double click on the first/second IDE Channel.
  4. Go to Advanced Settings - You should see your DMA statuses there.