Sky media quality

Hi there… forgive me if a come across somewhat dumb… I am a little new to DVD terminology.

Today I bought a 50 pack spindle of Sky Pro 8X DVD+R. I usually buy 16X TDK media, but Sky was cheap and sometimes I just can’t refuse a bargain. I also buy +R media as it is my understanding that it is superior to -R and I also like to change the booktype to DVD-ROM.

Anyways, I have had no problems burning with the Sky discs so far, however there is one thing that concerns me. When I held a disc up to the light (looking for surface scratches), I could see right through the disc!

Is this a sign of poor media? Also, could writing on the disc using a standard DVD/CD marker damage the data? Should I steer clear of Sky media discs?

I am using a BenQ DW1640. The DVDs I bought can be seen here (the 50pc cakebox:

http://www.skypromedia.com/product/dvdr_sk_dv_p8g480.htm

I would appreciate any help.

Cheers, Jordan.

Sky uses cheap manufacturers for their dvds. They dont make them.
So your discs could be either CMC, Prodisc, Plasmon, Optodisc or AML. Not worth the risk.
The best you could hope for would be CMC or Prodisc.

Great things to help you judge might be:

• What the media code is.
  • A quality scan with Nero CD-DVD Speed on a burnt disc.

Thanks for your advice…

Well, this is what the Nero CD-DVD Speed quality test shows (can anyone please help me interpret what this exactly means?). The Sky discs I’m using are made in China.

That’s almost definitely fake Verbatim/MCC media, given that media code of MCC003. The burn is actually fairly decent but I’ve found that the 1640 is very tolerant of crappy discs in general. The problem is that nobody trusts those discs to last.