Simultaneous Burning Needed

vbimport

Hi Everyone,

I have a pretty specific set of circumstances that I’m hoping someone can help me with. My cousin’s church has decided to make the move from providing parishioners with cassette copies of their weekly services to putting them on CD. Currently they use a simple cassette recorder to record the 80 (+/-) minute sermons then they use a double-speed duplicator for making copies. This is obviously very time consuming and makes it difficult to provide copies in a timely manner. What they wish to do is use Audacity or something comparable to record directly to a PC, then record the resultant WAV file to four CDs simultaneously.

Please forgive my stupidity regarding this topic as even though I am a Systems Administrator by trade and am proficient at building boxes, I have never specialized in audio recording/editing. What I would like to know is if the following components, paired with an OEM version of Nero can accomplish what is desired. It seems a little weak to me, especially regarding the ability of the bus to handle the simultaneous recording with OEM software. It’s from a local Mom-n-Pop that handles simple builds and does some service but they do not specialize in audio/video.

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-G33m-S2
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6550, 2.33 GHz
RAM: 2 GBs DDR2-667 (Brand not stated)
HD: 250 GB SATA 7200 RPM/150ms, 8 MB buffer (Brand not stated)
Burners: 4 X LiteOn DVDRW SATA DL
Power Supply: 350 Watt (Whatever comes in an Evercase LE 4292 case)

The computer will not be used for anything else. Even though I’m ignorant when it comes to this subject, it’s my gut feeling that they might be better off getting a lower-end box for the recording and a stand alone duplicator for making the copies. Their budget is to not exceed $1200.00

I’ll be grateful for any suggestions or leads.

Thanks in advance VERY MUCH,

Dan

Using Nero simply highlight the existing drives then having blanks in them then click burn.