Simple problem, but seemingly complicated solution; converting video ratio size

OK doke folks, I have what should be quite a simple problem to solve - or so I thought. I work for a charity and they want a DVD to loop a couple of videos on a PC screen - no problem. However, one of the videos is in the wrong aspect ratio; it’s stretched too vertically (Youtube example of it here). I can’t just get the technophobes there to fiddle with the video to get it to display correctly whenever they want and don’t have access to the original source files from whoever made the DVD, so my simple question is…

How can I convert this file so that it displays correctly by default? It’s currently VOB but I don’t mind converting it to another format. Surely there’s a simple program out there that can fix this?!

I’ve tried various programs but I’m no pro at this and have spent hours of frustration on this so can someone please point me in the right direction? It would be of great help.

Can you just stretch it in the video player? Here’s an example from VLC:

Thanks, yeah I know that it’s possible but these people just want to put a DVD in and let it run, they have NO understanding of PCs whatsoever. I need to make the video the right default aspect ratio.

I’m going download it but it will be a .flv .
I’m sure that is what it is on YouTube.
How did your video file get to being a .vob ?

Another part of the problem is the video may have already been badly converted. I’m not sure that can be fixed.
My understanding is the wrong “Pixel aspect ration can cause streching”. So it would take the original to really fix the problem.

That being said maybe it can be improved from what it now is.

I converted it to avi so that I could upload it to Youtube.