Silver or White? And which brand...Any advice?

Hey guys,
Newbie here. Just starting burning on printables and am looking for advice. I just got the Epson r200 printer (great so far for less than $100) specifically for burning printable cd’s. By the way, I’m assuming based on my research, that there are no comparitive competitor color cd printers out there for less than $200 or so. Correct me if I’m wrong, please.

Anyway, I’m printing all color photos (cd surface is pretty much 100% covered with color photos (kind of like a collage).

Here’s what I used / printed on so far…

• Memorex white printable (that came with the printer, probably not the greatest brand) - these came out looking pretty good actually.
  • Verbatim silver printable (says photo quality print surface on the packaging) - I felt as though these weren’t as clear or as sharp as the white surface. May be an obvious observation. Also felt that it was harder at different angles to see the pictures clearly (comparted to the white surface cd’s).

Thoughts on that, or suggestions on which way to go if I’ll generally be printing all color photos?

My experience with both is that it takes a long time (greater than 24hrs to dry). After 24 hours, I was able (when deliberately trying) to smudge the ink on both of them. Perhaps I should have waited longer? Would have thought that would have been enough time for both of them to dry, but maybe that’s the way they all are.

Also, looking for suggestions on which brand makes the best quality printable media out there (for both silver and white). Is there a third type of surface? Forgive the ignorance.

I’ve seen Ritek’s white printable on supermediastore for about half the price of the Ty one’s. I thought they were somewhat on the same level, so I can’t understand the price difference. Are they relatively the same level?