Sigh...PX-716UF help?

Well I hope this is the place, since Plextor’s tech support is absolutly useless.

Oh, hello everyone. I’m new to the parts, so be gentle! :disagree:

Here’s the deal, I bought the PX-716UF yesterday. So far, after about 8 hrs, and at least 1 on the phone with 4 different tech guys, I can’t get this machine to write any DVD media faster than about 3.5x (I say 3.5 because it’s slower than my other writer which is a 4x unit.

My box exceeds the minimum req’s.
Athlon xp2000 1.67GHZ
512 ram
Windows XP PRO SP2

You name it, I think I’ve done it. Nothing is running in the background, anti-virus is off. Soundcard drivers for firewire are updated. USB 2.0 drivers are updated. Unit has been flashed to latest firmware version from 1.07 to 1.09 (neither worked). Tried 2 different firewire and 2 different USB cables.
Tried Nero, CloneDVD2, DVD Decryptor, DVDshrink and Plextools.

I’ve rebooted here, there, and everwhere. I’ve ran the self diagnostic test, it passed. I don’t get error msgs. All burns I have completed are succesful. No costers. Bufferunderrun is enabled, I’ve enabled and disable PowerRec (no difference).

I’ve tried Ritek, and 2 different Tuiyo Yuden DVD-R’s and the Verbatim DVD+R that came with the unit. All rated at 16x. All fail miserably when I test them with the Plextools DVD/CD write transfer application. The drive will however, burn any CD-R media I throw at it, at or above it’s spec’d speed.

Anything else I can try? Please…

For anyone who reads my essay and has some input, thanks! :smiley:

Wow…not a thing? :doh:

Anyways, today I tried it on a machine at work, and ripped and burnt a full DVD in 13 minutes. It’s not the drive. I upgraded to 1gb of ram, and it did nothing. I’m running out of idea.

Download Nero CD-DVD Speed, insert a DVD with some data on it, and run Burst Test. You should get over 23 MB/s to be able to burn at 16x.

Thanks for that…it’s appreciate.
Here’s my result. 27mb.