Should i bring my Philips back?

vbimport

Hi to all, newbiest of the newbie here, i bought a Philips DVDR1620K a week ago, i flashed the firmware with the latest one: 2.5 and now Nero recognies a DVDR1640P.

I need your help… my DVD burner doesn’t work really fine…
Usually i decrypt a DVD (with DVD Decrypter) then i shrink it (with DVD Shrink) and then i use Nero to burn it…

Nero writes all the DVD and doesn’t give any errors… usually i check the verify data option and here the Nero goes crazy…
(PLZ see the LOG attached)

In the DVD player the movie works fine untill i reach the 21st chapther or something like that… i’m going crazy… plz help me, give me some suggestion…

:confused:

Welcome to the forum.

That’s because you use Princo media, which is not known to be of high quality.

Bad media typically gives read problems at the end of a disk.

The solution is to use better media than Princo.

Just to your information, the log you attached starts with Nero serials.

thanks for your reply!
I thought that Princo was a bad media… now i’m sure… anyway today i’ve tried with another media… EMTEC and i had the same problem… maybe also EMTEC is a pain in the @ss as media… well i will try with PHILIPS media… and i hope that will work.

I supposed that the number in the log were S/N but i wasn’t sure… ops…

Cheers

P.S. can anybody tell me which media should i use with this burner please ?
thanks!

Good media to try would be Ritek/Ridata, Taiyo Yuden, Prodisc, Samsung (with the Taiyo Yuden media codes - I know the 4x DVD+R from Rima.com are TY), Verbatim, and Fuji sounds like it’s pretty good. Get some good media first then you can tell if your drive is burning properly. The only drive I ever had that could burn on the cheap media properly was my NEC ND2500A but since that drive is dead… well, you know the rest of the story. hehe

Burning method slightly odd.