Should DVd Shrink take this long to backup my DVD's?

vbimport

Hi,

I’m quite new to the game of backing up my DVD’s, so have a few questions about whether or not what I’m experiencing is expected, but first here are a few details of my setup :-

• My master drive is a 16 speed DVD-ROM, Lite-On Model Nbr SOHD-167T-02C
  • My slave drive is a 16 speed Pioneer DVR-108 Dual Layer DVD burner.
  • Both these drives were purchased and installed within the last few weeks so they are up to date models.
  • Both drives are set to “DMA if available”
  • I’m using the latest DVD Shrink software along with the latest Nero 6 software. Both these are installed with the default options.

What I do is this :-

1 - Put my original DVD into my DVD-ROM drive and put my blank DVD-R (8 speed datawrite classic) into my DVD burner drive.
2 - I then open up DVD Shrink and click on “open disc” and select the DVD-ROM drive.
3 - It goes through a process of analysing which takes approx 2 to 3 minutes for a typical 2 and a bit hour movie.
4 - When this has completed, I select re-author and choose the main feature and associated audio files.
5 - I then press Backup and select the “burn using nero option” and choose a folder on my hard drive for temporary files.

What happens now is that it goes through a process of encoding the movie but this takes ages. The dialog box that appears shows the following typical details :-

Rate :- Anywhere between 1,200 KB/s and 1,800 KB/s
Buffered :- Anywhere between 1Mb and 80Mb

The length of time to complete this encoding process takes approx 60 to 75 mins for the same typical 2 and a bit hour movie. Once the encoding process has completed, DVd Shrink then uses Nero automatically to burn and this only takes about 7 to 10 mins which is fine. But I don’t know why the encoding part takes so long.