Short lives of DVD-R

I’ve been burning DVD-R for about 2 years now and most of them start behaving badly after 3 months.
First my standalone start having problems reading them, then my computer, then they’re simply not readable anymore.

I’ve read a very disturbing post about chemical problem with CD-R and DVD-R :
http://palimpsest.stanford.edu/byform/mailing-lists/amia-l/2000/03/msg00126.html

Is it just me?

One year ago i burned two dvd-r with all my backup stuff. Since then i have hardly used them as it is only a backup, and the stuff i actually is stored on the hdd.

3 months ago i tried to copy all the data to my hdd and found that one of the discs would not read. Multiple DVD readers using Microsoft and Linux all said that it could not find the disc. The drive whirs up, down and multiple frequencies can be heard from the drive as it attempts to sync.

The other disc worked and i hurriedly moved all the data off without problems. Three months later i am still trying to recover the data from that disc.

Today i placed the other disc in the drive (that worked 2 months ago) and found that it has EXACTLY THE SAME PROBLEM.

The discs are perfectly clean from dust and scratches so it is mind boggling.

I have tried bad copy pro and cd roller to recover without success.

THe original dvd’s were burned with nero.

marty

Originally posted by vbishop
[B]I’ve been burning DVD-R for about 2 years now and most of them start behaving badly after 3 months.
First my standalone start having problems reading them, then my computer, then they’re simply not readable anymore.

I’ve read a very disturbing post about chemical problem with CD-R and DVD-R :
http://palimpsest.stanford.edu/byform/mailing-lists/amia-l/2000/03/msg00126.html

Is it just me? [/B]

Dust and scratchs aside…

Were the discs labled? Sticky lables “actually the adhesive used” are known to cause trouble. Sharpie markers are also reported to be lest then Ideal labelling tools…:slight_smile: