Sh-w163a Help!

Hi there, i am new to this all and its doing my head in!

I have recently bought a samsung sh-w163a dvd rewritet drive, heres my problem.

whenever i put an empty disc in the drive no application will read it, they all seem to stall on starting and will not finnish loading until i eject the dvd-r. it is as if it cannot decide if there is a disc there or not and so stalls until i get rid of it.

however it does recognise formated dvd-rw discs but instead of stalling it will write the lead in and then report an error before writing.

this happens with every programme i have used, the drive has the latest firmware preinstalled and i have even formated my hard drive to no avail.

the discs all seem to be fine as they write on my laptop.

Please please can someone help me!

What the heck do you expect from inserting a BLANK media??
NO drive can READ it, no app can READ it, blanks are only to be recognized by burner and apps to be burned, nothing else.

I KNOW THAT!

i mean NO BURNING APPLICATION WILL ACCEPT IT!!

nero, powerproducer, ulead, and others will all stall upon insertion of blank media for burning.

I wouldn’t deal with that much burning apps, more apps creates more issues…

Hi,

there is some possibly very important information missing in your posting:

• SATA chipset of your mainboard
  • BIOS setting of your SATA chipset
  • driver information about your SATA chipset (MS default drivers or those from manufacturer)
  • MID of the media you are using

Michael

ok i am using all manufacturer drivers, its a DFI Lanparty SLI-DR board using

Four Serial ATA ports supported by the nForce4 chip - SATA speed up to 3Gb/s - RAID 0, RAID 1 and RAID 0+1 - NVIDIA RAID allows RAID arrays spanning across Serial ATA and Parallel ATA

Four Serial ATA ports supported by the Silicon Image Sil 3114 chip - SATA speed up to 1.5Gb/s - RAID 0, RAID 1, RAID 0+1 and RAID 5