SH-203N problems erasing Verbatim DVD+RW (not book type issue)

vbimport

Hello,
I am new to this forum and are looking for help with an erase problem which I have with my Samsung SH-203N burner. I have read the FAQ’s and performed searches on this forum but although I found reference to an erase problem with the SH203 that appears to be a different problem. (book/type problem).
I am still learning about DVD burner technology, there is certainly a lot of information in these forums! Hopefully I have phrased my question correctly and provide the necessary information.

My equipment:

My burner is a Samsung SH-203N with SB01 firmware
my motherboard is a Gigabyte GA965DS3.
the SH-203N to the Intel SATA device (on the ICH8), I am not running RAID
I have 3GB dual channel DDR ram. I am running an e6300 core2 duo
My OS is XP Pro SP2 with all the latest updates

The problem:

I am using brand new Verbatim DVD+RW. I try to burn them in Sony Vegas8 Pro. It gets to about 30% then stalls for a bit and then whilst the progress bar is still at 33% it comes back and says it burned successfully. I then eject the disk and put it back in the drive. The hard drive LED comes on solid and the led on the 203N flashes slowly. My computer becomes very sluggish/unresponsive.

With this disk in the drive, I am not able to run up Nero8 UE and therefore cannot erase the disk. When I try to run Nero, nothing happens, startsmart doesn’t appear. Alternatively, if I run up Nero8 first, then insert the disc Nero becomes unresponsive (as does my PC generally). I am able to eject the disk ok and after that my PC becomes responsive again.

As an experiment, I took the ‘bad’ disk into work and was able to load it into my LG burner and erase it without any problems. My work PC has a LG GSA4167B and I was running Nero6