Setting up, erasing, and aborting when writing? why?

I am new at this, so go easy on me. I burned one with no problem onto a DVD+RW. However, my first try on a DVD+R (maxell 4X) resulted in a very long period after the “creating dvd files” was done where under the writing bar stated “setting up, erasing”. Huh? It spent 10 minutes doing this. The burn light was red on the front of my DVD drive too. After the 10 minutes it said aborting and gave me an error message that it failed. I tried another blank DVD and the same exact thing. What would it be erasing on a blank NON-rewritable disc? Very odd. I started the whole process over for that movie, recreating the dvd files and it worked fine. Then it happened AGAIN on the very next one. Same deal with the “setting up, erasing”, the burn light for 10 minutes, and then aborting and bombing out. Does anyone know what might be causing this, or what, if anything, I could do to prevent or minimize this? This process is long enough as it is - having to redo it for every movie is killing me. Thanks in advance.

Originally posted by wowarning
However, my first try on a DVD+R (maxell 4X) resulted in a very long period after the “creating dvd files” was done where under the writing bar stated “setting up, erasing”. Huh?
My Matshita UJ-810 DVD RAM/-R/-RW does this. What is your burner and Firmware revision?

It’s a Lite On LDW-811S (8x DVD±R, ±RW). I’m not sure of the firmware version. The drive is pretty new but maybe there is an update available. Could that do it? I just tried compressing with DVD Shrink and then burning those files with Clone DVD. NO DICE! This is pretty freaking annoying. Maybe the media is the problem?

>Maybe the media is the problem?

Try something else

They’re Memorex 4X DVD+R in the DVD case. I would think name brand media should be okay, but what do I know. I got two movies to burn onto these discs, but I’m still having trouble getting any more to. It’s a spotty problem.