Set booktype to DVD-ROM option

vbimport

I am new to DVDFab and use it to backup and burn DVD movies. I found this option “Set booktype to DVD-ROM (only for DVD+R/RW media)” in “Write” settings section.

Since I use DVD+R media, I thought it would be interesting to know more about this option. I checked the DVDFab Tutorials page and all it says is:

Setting the disc booktype to DVD-ROM can make your backup disc more compatible with some standalone players. Not all drives support this feature.

I could not understand it much. Can somebody talk more about it?

[quote=sheetumanu;2178345]I am new to DVDFab and use it to backup and burn DVD movies. I found this option “Set booktype to DVD-ROM (only for DVD+R/RW media)” in “Write” settings section.

Since I use DVD+R media, I thought it would be interesting to know more about this option. I checked the DVDFab Tutorials page and all it says is:

[I]Setting the disc booktype to DVD-ROM can make your backup disc more compatible with some standalone players. Not all drives support this feature.[/I]

I could not understand it much. Can somebody talk more about it?[/quote]
Ok, here is a link for you to read on that [B]DVD bitsetting[/B]. If you have more questions just ask

Good link GJ sure easier than trying to explain it

Thanks Jimbo, would have been too long of a post to explain so I was happy that I had the link bookmarked already.

I read the tutorial on bit setting and just want to clarify – I had a Plextor 716A and Plextor did update it to change the bit setting. Now have a Plextor 800 and Plextor doesn’t support bit setting anymore. So, (correct me if I’m wrong), even if you have software that allows bit setting – it won’t work if the DVD burner doesn’t support bit setting?

you are correct you cannot bitset if the dvd drive does not support it.

I don’t know about Plextor burners but you might look at the burner forum and get an update to the FW that will allow it