Serious Record Buffer Level Fluctuations

Hello, This might seem a bit long, but I thought I should include everything I have encoutered to hopefully make it easier for all of us :slight_smile:

I’ve been experiencing this strange situation lately, and haven’t been able to come up with anything concrete via google or here. Ok, so here are the facts… I am running a Toshiba Satellite PIII 850Mhz, 256MB Ram laptop running Windows XP Pro. I am using a USB 2.0 PCMCIA Adapter which is linked to my external Plextor 40/12/40U Burner. The software I am using is the Plextor issued Nero 5.5 Burning Rom, with firmware uptdated on the Plextor.

I have been using this burner for a few months, and everything has worked perfectly. Over the past few weeks… out from no where… when recording CDRs(which are capable of 48X) @ 40X(6000kb/s)… let us say for example a ~700MB disc would take over 20 mins. Usually it only takes betw/ 5-6mins. I have tried reducing the speed but to no avail, same situation. :frowning:

I have also checked to make sure that the lens is not dirty, the connections are correct. The only thing I have noticed is that my Recording Buffer Level has been changing constantly during the buring process anywhere between 5-95%. :eek: Usually and almost always… my record buffer level stays at 96-98%!!

I also have tried closing all applications, disabled net connection, made sure no major processes are going on (i,e, in the system taskbar)… but nothing has changed. Device manager indicates no connection problems (i.e. drive is recognized, as well as USB 2.0 connection, no exlamation marks

Also, I am not sure about this… Someone has mentioned about viral infection? Can a remnant of something called “WWIN32” be still on xp, even after norton av 2003 check (w/ the latest definitions) states no infections found? I did an online check at PC-Trend/PC-Cillin… no infections found. Scandisk and Chkdsk had found no problems.