Serious laptop problem - any kind of physical interaction causes hardware failure! :'(

vbimport

My laptop has been playing up recently; it got to the point after it froze for the umpteenth time that I punched the keyboard. Yes I know, not clever.

However, now is is SO sensitive that the slightest movement causes it to freeze up, and I get not a blue screen of death, but lots of vertical lines - varying in pixel width and colour completely covering the screen.

If I push a key too hard, it happens, if I lift it REALLY GENTLY, literally half the time it happens. Or just tap it somewhere with my finger. I currently have it on a flat surface and am having to use a USB keyboard to type.

Does someone know what the problem could be and would I be able to fix it by opening it up (I’m an amateur-novice with PCs, better with desktops), or will I have to take it somewhere to get it fixed?

Replies appreciated - hopefully I’ll be able to fix it myself and learn something in the process, which would be handy as I want to enter education/a career in computing after failing my 2nd year of philosophy at uni.

If it’s relevant, it’s a cheapy HiGrade model, not sure of the model number as I’ll have to lift it to look which will make it freeze but I’ll make a note next time I switch it off in case it is important., but I’m guessing that it’s irrelevant as it’s something that could happen to any lappy.

This started after you punch the keyboard I presume. Most laptops sell the keyboard assembly separate. You probably destroyed the whole laptop though, in all honesty. It was probably a software related issue, but is definitely hardware now, adding to the software problem = new laptop time. IMHO.

Thanks,no it happened before I hit it, now just moreso. I’m thinking there was a hardware issue that I further damaged, like a loose component or something.

Could be the screen connector, but it does sound like you just made it worse!

The sound goes too though.