Serious Issue With 5005 - Units Only Lasting 6 Weeks

vbimport

I believe that Liteon has a serious problem on their hands with their drives not recognizing media after a certain period of time.

Bought a 5005 in March 2005, it worked for 6 weeks then it stopped working. I was forced to pay $22 to RMA it for service.

In mid May I received a new unit from Liteon(new serial number). It worked fine for 6 weeks AND THEN THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM HAPPENED.

Once I get a response to my email, I will be forced to spend another $22 to send it back to them for RMA service.

I think everyone would agree that it is completely unacceptable for a product to work only 6 weeks.

This is not a problem with my set-up. I have a lot of experience in the field and many other people have reported similar problems in this forum and the UK forum.

Given the number of people with this problem I wish there was some way that we could turn up the pressure on Liteon to recognize this issue and to work to fix it. Does anyone know the process to get the US government involved?

When it works, I like the 5005 product. But $200 for a product that self terminates after 6 weeks is unacceptable.

Any suggestions on how we get some action on this issue?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Maybe a complaint to the Better Business Bureau by each forum member that has experienced the problem will get their attention?

Also, most of the District Attorney’s office’s have a Consumer Affairs department where complaints about rebates, faulty products, etc. are handled. You might try calling your DA’s office and see how these things are addressed. They can certainly find plenty of evidence of the problem here in this forum. All the DA’s office would need to do is place a posting here with their contact information to obtain less anonymous evidence.