Seeking Universal DVD+R Compatibility

vbimport

Folks:

Have been lurking for some months now, reading the existing threads about best burners, best media, etc. However, something happened yesterday at my office which motivated me to write.

I’m a system builder and occasionally make DVD recovery discs for my customers. I made a recovery DVD and popped it into the customer’s PC, just to make sure the disc worked. Out of five tries, it successfully only booted twice, even then it took longer (> 15 secs) than normal for the PC to boot. My best guess is that the DVD-ROM was old (likely > 2 yrs) and had drifted out of alignment. Am I on the right “track” w/ this suspicion ? BTW, the burner (a TS-H552B) is less than a year old.

My central question is whether there’s a universally-compatible DVD burner/media combo that will maximize utilization on the widest number of different destination drives ? Does such a thing exist ? This is important since I won’t be able to determine (in advance) which DVD drive the client will have installed in his/her PC and I may have to send recovery discs (by mail) to PCs I can’t physically inspect/certify.

My current thinking is that I’ll have to change drives once a year, to make sure that at least my drive(s) is/are close to std tolerances and simply hope for the best w/ my client’s DVD drives. Then stick w/ whatever media that has the best reviews for the drive.

Does any of this make sense ? TIA…Jet

PS: Is a slower burn (eg. an 8x burn using 16x media) better than a faster burn for compatibility’s sake ?

Some DVD-ROM drives will not read +R discs at all, some will not read -R and many will not read RW discs. Your choice of burner and media will not impact that problem very much, nor will burn speed. Quality media, burned at rated speed in a good drive is the ticket. Burn quality [B]may[/B] impact compatability, but usually only if it’s really poor quality.

Odds are best with -R media, but still not 100%.