SD/CF card speeds - A marketing gimmick?

I am new to photography and using memory for cameras. When I was planning to buy SD memory, I saw so many choices and did some studies and the results I got were very surprising to me.

So in essence, the speed of SD/CF cards matter ONLY when you’re reading from them, not for performance with the cameras.

http://www.kenrockwell.com/tech/cf-sd.htm
http://www.bobatkins.com/photography/digital/compact_flash_memory_cards.html

See the second link - Most cameras, even high end cannot write faster than 1.4 MB/s - so no point in buying the faster memory. And all cameras have sufficient internal buffer which is difficult to run out unless shooting RAW sports mode.

I think I made a wise decision buying a 2 GB Kingston SD for my Canon SD800 IS from Frys for $25 (Thanks ghettocowboy for letting me know the bargain) and not the $90 or so ‘Ultra speed’ elsewhere

Another gimmick forcing unknowing users to invest $$$ in something they dont need.

I suspect the faster write speeds, excelling the speed that of the camera read ability is for people who have a dedicated slot and like to save the precious few seconds when it comes to data transfer of those pics onto their PC’s.

Also prob not a bad thing to have for possible future camera products that might take advantage of the higher read/write speeds.

I would buy it but only if the diff in price between them would be less than $10.

the random access time will increase the rate at which you can shot pictures i belive

The ‘Ultra’ speed cards were about twice the cost of the standard ones when I bought it yesterday. So I cannot justify paying $50 for a card that costs $25

As for future cameras, I will not retain my $25 card when I buy my new one in a few years. After all the new camera will have more features, higher file (megapixel) size which means more storage needed, so I will probably upgrade my storage card too and buy a better (higher storage) one.