SD Cards, Speed Ratings, and Card Readers/Writers

Hello all,

Being a photographer myself, it really angers me to see all these cards touting speed ratings like 40x, 66x, 80x, 133x, 150x and others not having any at all. Sometimes it makes life hard when buying memory cards to make a decision - because it might turn out that these speed ratings are all a LIE! I’ve had some cards that clearly are slower than what they claim to be - and have some 66x cards outperform 133x cards in my camera.

Then comes card readers, most of which I’ve tried never break the 7MB/s barrier for read or write regardless of card - claims of 20Mb/s never seem to show up. Sort of makes no sense if a high speed card doesn’t “show off” the speed.

It also really causes me problems to see that 150x SD cards seem to have compatibility issues with some devices e.g. PDA’s which fail to format/recognise them. Also 4GB SD cards which are out of standard and some MMC Cards that corrupt themselves and lock up and die!

SD Cards seem all so fragile, the plastic doesn’t last - i’ve broken two already and this is just so frustrating.

Just my experiences on memory cards, ever so frustrating for me … feel free to share your experiences (also trying to wake up a seemingly dead and quiet place in the forum).

I recently attended the Flash Memory Summit where similar concerns were voiced. Unfortunately, reliability was not addressed as much as capacity and speed. I am told that flash memory will have wider role to play with new operating systems. This might trigger more widespread recognition of the need for reliability.