Scratch resistant CDrs: lots of questions

Hello,

Newbie here. :cool:

I have several questions pertaining to scratch resistant CDrs.

1.) I understand that paper labels are a big no-no. However, would an acid free paper CD label be OK to use with a scratch resistant CD surface? I mean how much safer is that than using it with standard CDrs?

2.) Where can I buy CDrs with protective coating on BOTH sides of the disc? Which brands would you suggest?

3.) “Scratch-less” brand CDs. I heard allot about them in 2005, but there’s hardly any further info about them on the internet or places that sell the discs. What happened to them?

Thanks. Don’t kill the newbie. :slight_smile:

Atal

First off Welcome to the forum Atal
I can answer the first question for you but since I hardly ever use CD’s I can
not be much help on questions 2 and 3

1.) I understand that paper labels are a big no-no. However, would an acid free paper CD label be OK to use with a scratch resistant CD surface? I mean how much safer is that than using it with standard CDrs?

In a word [U][B]NO [/B][/U]it would not be safe to use any kind of paper labels acid free or not even on scratch resistant Cd’s as the
heat generated from reading and then the cooling would still cause problems with having a paper label on there causing
the disc to warp out of shape and become unreadable over time. :iagree:

[quote=Atal;2223298]1.) I understand that paper labels are a big no-no. However, would an acid free paper CD label be OK to use with a scratch resistant CD surface? I mean how much safer is that than using it with standard CDrs?[/QUOTE] Paper labels are evil, acid or no acid. Avoid them like the plague.

2.) Where can I buy CDrs with protective coating on BOTH sides of the disc? Which brands would you suggest?
I have no idea.

Although I have seen CD-R with scratch resistant data side announced, I have never ever seen any of the shops I check have such media.