Sata woes

vbimport

Man am I having problems on my current build.

This is my first time using sata hds in a build and I am having problems. I am using a biostar motherboard and yes it does support Sata. I have both hds plugged in and my nec burner plugged into the secondary ide slot. The bios however wont detect them. What do I do? The nec comes up fine.

check your bios most sata capable boards have different settings ie; mine has 3 1. Sata enabled Pata(IDE) disabled. 2. PATA enabled Sata disabled 3. Sata and PATA enabled. more than likely your sata is not enabled in the bios.

Do they show up in Windows or are you trying to install window onto them now?

I am doing a fresh install of windows xp pro on the machine.

Do you have the correct SATA drivers on a Floppy disk. When doing a new install onto a SATA drive you can press F6 during the initial startup of the setup program to load them and off you go.

Hmm it says its enabled. The raid controller is enabled and so is the sata. Yet when I say autodetect in the IDE config nothing comes up.

Unfortunately I dont have them since I ordered two oem sata drives. IS there a place I can get them?

The sata drivers come with the motherboard they are usually on a floppy. if you dont have it you should be able to download it from the BIOstar website.

You will need to go to either the Hard Drive website to get the drivers or the BIOStar website. I would think the hard drive manufacture though.

Download and then probably unzip onto a floppy disk and then load when asked.

The F6 button option will come up on the blue (I think) bar at the bottom of the install screen. Press when asked and then insert disk and load.

Hey Presto working SATA drives with windows.

http://support.wdc.com/download/index.asp?cxml=n&pid=2&swid=10
I dont know which one.

http://www.biostar.com.tw/support/driver/model.php3?name=K8VHA-M&os=

Is this it?

yup,