SATA is there a big difference?

I just bought a new mother board and it will accept a sata drive. I am going to get a new drive tomorrow and was wondering if it is worth it to get a sata drive instead of a ide drive. i could use the extra ide slot…Would i notice a difference in speed??? and can i ghost my current ide drive to a sata drive???thanks

I’m not an expert in these things, but for what I know to notice a difference in speed you need to buy a s-ata2 drive and to build a RAID system. Most of integrated s-ata controllers are able to work in RAID.

From what I have been leed to believe, due to the way the controler works, there is a slight performance increase in the way data is handled with sata, but the diffrence is very small. As far as the drives speed, 7200 rpm drives are not fast enough to take advantage of the aditional speed capabilities of sata, even if they are raided. Even raptors raided do not exceed pata’s 133MB/s speed limit. The only way you might actually see a speed diffrence with sata is perhaps if you raided 3/4 drives (which most motherboard controlers cannot do if I’m not mistaken) and or used ultra fast (and ultra expensive) drives raided. There is the advantage of not using up your ide conectors though.

so i am just better off buying twice the size of hard drive for the same money and get an ide…??? I see they have a 160g seagate at comp usa for $39 after rebate

Just get a IDE drive with 16MB cache and you’ll be good to go.

If out of the drives you are looking at, the sata are more expensive, I would just get the ide. I have seen sata drives on sale as cheap as ide drives though, they just don’t seem to go on sale quite as often.

Most have 8MB for the cache. I have both IDE and SATA and my Seagate 160 IDE beats the SATA so you cannot just look at the connection; there can be other factors at work as well.

I would go with price.