Samsung SH-W162L issue

Please please please, would someone be able to help me with a burner issue that I’m having. I apologize in advance if this is the wrong place to post this topic… or if I sound like a total newbie.

Backstory: I have a Samsung SH-W162L CD/DVDW drive and a Samsung SD-616T DVD-ROM drive installed on my XP machine. They’ve been working perfectly since I installed the SH-W162L about two years ago. I was watching a burned .avi file this afternoon from the SH-W162L and everything was fine. Later today, I ejected the DVD and inserted a blank DVD+RW into the drive. Unfortunately, the DVD didn’t register. Over the next 20 minutes or so, I determined that the SH-W162L drive is no longer reading media (burned DVD, purchased DVD, burned CD, purchased CD) and the SD-616T is still working fine.

Things I’ve tried so far include: rebooting countless times, disabling and re-enabling the drive, uninstalling and allowing the PC to reinstall driver, physically disconnecting and reconnecting drive (fiddling with wires, etc.). I can’t seem to find the correct driver download from the Samsung website. The only drivers available are for a TS OEM code (whatever that means), while my drive is a LC code (I found this out by using the Wininquiry tool provided by Samsung).

Does anyone have any ideas as to something else I could try? Or maybe where to find the driver with the correct OEM code? I’ve been working on this for the last 3 hours and I’m starting to get frustrated :sad:

This just in: I’ve figured out that the OEM tag of my device (LC) means it’s a LaCie product (which is evidently made by Samsung because that’s how it shows up on my Devices List). Sadly, after a visit to their site to obtain the correct firmware, and after installing said firmware… I am no closer to reading media than I was before.

Hi and Welcome!

at first, please check if there are any error indicators in device manager and report back.