Samsung SE-S184M Failure question

Greetings all!

This is my first time here in this forum so please be gentle! :bigsmile:

I have an SE-S184M external drive which worked BEAUTIFULLY until last night.

I started up the system and everything looked normal. That is until i put this movie in the drive called “the Fountain”… While Rachel Weise is quite a beauty, the movie was horrid, and i am not sure if the drive just got revolted and revolted, or what happened exactly. All that happens now is when you power the drive up, the (activity) light lights green, but never blinks or goes off! And when you tought the eject button, nothing happens, you can release the drawer with the emergency but no other way. No evidence of anything amiss, except it just decided to STOP in mid stream. Sound like some may b e loose when you pick it up and turn it over to get the serial. Does anyone know if thre is a way to reset the drive if the logic is hosed? Or lacking that, perhaps someone could tell me you to remove the case so i can replace the dead drive with a new one.

Thanks in advance,

Pat

Hi and Welcome!

at first please try the drive connected to another computer to sort out any issue related to your system.
If that fails also, then have your drive serviced under warranty (make sure, it is not expired).

If I remember correctly, then there is also no option to install another drive since the unit has a custom faceplate at least.

Michael

michael,

thanks for the reply.

first thing i did was check it against another machine, same symptoms. whenever you power it up, the activity light comes on solid green (no blinking) and that is all it does. the pc it is attached to recognises the drive by type and function on the usb, but there is no activity on the drive itself.