Samsung Light Scribe SH-223Q Drivers

Hi, I am a newbie here. I just finished building a computer and cannot get the DVD/CD drive to work. (SATA)

Vista Ultimate installed the win 32/cdrom.sys driver. I have run the firmware update several time with no results. I called Samsung and got a woman the was clueless.

Any help would be appreciated. :sad: TIA =) amaverick

Hi and Welcome![QUOTE=amaverick;2222345]Hi, I am a newbie here. I just finished building a computer and cannot get the DVD/CD drive to work. (SATA)
[/QUOTE]could you please specify as exactly as possible what does not work?
A couple of questions:
Is the drive shown in device manager?
What Sata controller is used and how is it configured in Bios?
Can you boot from this drive?

Michael

[QUOTE=mciahel;2222350]Hi and Welcome!could you please specify as exactly as possible what does not work?
A couple of questions:
Is the drive shown in device manager?
What Sata controller is used and how is it configured in Bios?
Can you boot from this drive?

Michael[/QUOTE]

The lightscribe does not work. The drive is identified correctly by the OS (Vista Ultimate)

In the device manager the driver is Windows/system32/cdrom.sys.

I am using an Asus P6T motherboard with Marvell controllers I believe.

The options set in BIOS are IDE. I tried AHCI and the computer would not boot.

I put in the Vista disc and it booted right past that. =)
amaverick

I believe that you will find Windows does not include any native support for DVD drives. When you purchased the drive, it should have included a copy of Nero 8 Essentials. Installing this software and updating your drive firmware to the latest available should get you going.

[QUOTE=mdisante;2222480]I believe that you will find Windows does not include any native support for DVD drives. When you purchased the drive, it should have included a copy of Nero 8 Essentials. Installing this software and updating your drive firmware to the latest available should get you going.[/QUOTE]