Samsung DVD Sata

My SH-S223Q Sata will read disc, but won’t burn, because my computor says DVD not found. I have a Dell Dim 8300, I think the chip is 875P. I have tried both Roxio Creator 2009 and Nero 8 software. I hooked the Sata Data cable to Sata 0 on my MB. I have search for a week now for answer. I am ready to just get an IDE Burner. Any help will greatly be appreciated. I am a newbie here, so not sure if I am in the right place.

Hi and Welcome!

some questions to start with:[ul]
[li]is the drive shown in Windows Explorer?[/li][li]is the drive shown in device manager without error indicators?[/li][li]are your Sata controllers in Raid configuration (which is not a good idea for optical drives)?[/ul][/li]
Michael

Install the burntools that came WITH the burner, other OEM software will not work.

[QUOTE=chef;2223432]Install the burntools that came WITH the burner, other OEM software will not work.[/QUOTE]Not necessarily.

Hi Michael - Thank you for responding. Yes it show in Windows Explorer as DVD-Ram Drive; andin Device Manager it shows under DVD/CD-Rom drives a TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S223Q with no yellow or red explanation mark. Now for the Sata controllers in Raid, Hmmmm I am not sure where the Sata Controllers are?

Hi,[QUOTE=ridge;2223497]Hi Michael - Thank you for responding. Yes it show in Windows Explorer as DVD-Ram Drive; andin Device Manager it shows under DVD/CD-Rom drives a TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S223Q with no yellow or red explanation mark.[/quote]this is a good sign. :slight_smile:

Now for the Sata controllers in Raid, Hmmmm I am not sure where the Sata Controllers are?
The configuration of the Sata controllers can be checked and modified in Bios setup (see manual of your computer). Most compatible with optical drives is IDE. Please do only check, don’t change anything at the moment. Chosing the wrong option may render your computer unbootable.

Michael

[QUOTE=mciahel;2223502]Hi,this is a good sign. :slight_smile: