Safer with partition?

vbimport

i think ive come to the conclusion, after being infected with a couple viruses, to reformat my computer since it is now running very shady after removing them… here is my question tho:

Is it safer for my files to kept in partitioned drives? In other words, if i split my c drive into 2 partitions, keeping my windows & programs on C, then other files like music, photos, etc on the other partition of it, would those other files be any safer from viruses?? In my experience it seems like viruses usually strike the c drive (with windows) most. OR, would the entire PHYSICAL drive be effected (both partitions)? just curious so i know what to do when i reformat this thing… thanks in advance!

I’m not an expert here, but I wouldn’t think it matters. If a virus is running unchecked, it can get at anything it wants. Many seem to hide themselves as system processes etc., so they reside on the c drive, and many try to effect windows, they go after the c drive again, but the data on your c drive (in seperate folders), shouldn’t be more of a target than another partition. If it does have free run, it can get your other partition just as easilly. Fyi, like I said, I’m no expert, it’s just my take on it (had more that a few virus’s to deal with and have reinstalled a few times because of it).

Hello uronmy49311

I don’t think that your data would be safer if you seperate you software from data. A virus can do almost everything if it runs on your system. Therefore it will not help in any way.

But a few hints:
After setup of you machine, with all your applications and settings I’d make a backup of this working state. In case of an virus or trojan infection you can complete delete your system and restore the backup. That will not take more than 30-60 minutes (depending on the size of your restored data). In this time span it is impossible to setup your complete system by hand.