RMA'd my NEC ND3540

vbimport

I bought this drive about a month ago, and could not get a decent burn out of it. I’m not an expert, but this drive should give me better burns than my old NEC1300, and - well - I was getting average to below average with my Riteck R02’s. I have 200 of these, as they are cheap, and worth the money IMHO. Good burns gave me 1.6 M PIE’s, and it only went down hill from there. Compare that to about 100K PIE’s with the 1620. Even the Ritek R04’s are burning bad. I can’t wait around for a good BIOS while this drive gathers’s dust. I’m very dissapointed - I wanted this drive to be my stapple.

So - back to Newegg it goes.

I know how you feel. I’m still holding on to mine, but -good grief- what a dissappointment!

Most users, including myself are getting excellent burns with this drive. I have read 3 or 4 reviews of this drive and all have rated it very high. New drives with initial release firmware will have issues, and probably more so on very inexpensive, low quality media. There are dozens if not hundreds of scans available for this drive, showing you which media works best with this model. First recommendation is update firmware to latest liggy and dee, (1.W4). Second, use the Riteks as coasters for your coffee cup, (many of them are barely acceptable even for that usage). Thirdly, spend the extra $.10 per piece of media and get a decent brand like Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden, (Meritline, Supermediastore, and Rima have these brands very very cheap, and they are all authentic). Lastly, be patient, new firmware will be available shortly and should make improvments in a number of areas.

Yo-

All 35## seem to do their very best on quality medias like Taiyo Yuden, Verbatim or Maxell-

Both my 3500’s excell with them - to the point that I bought a couple of backups-

Mike

Until the new firmwares come out many people have had good results with MCC 003. You might try that or exchange for a 3520 while they are still available.