RITEKR04 and 1633S

vbimport

I have BS0S Firmware and the RitekR04 16x dvd+R

I did a burn at 16x.

Kprobe settings were with a speed of 4x PISUM 8 PIF Sum 1

any help on a firmware that would let me burn a good quality burn ? any recommendations as to which 16x to use?

magnatique -

I haven’t had great success with Ritek R04s (admittedly, I’m very new to burning DVDs) - at least from a cost-effective standpoint. I have a NEC3500 with the latest dee/liggy firmware and the results of tests with R04s and Nero CD-DVD Speed average a little over 6 minutes with some unreadables (see images) - compared to some Taiyo Yuden TYG02s which test(at 12x) on average at a little over 6 and a half minutes with great results (no unreadables - so far)… See the included images.

R04 test burn:

TYG02 test burn:

R04 read test:

TYG02 read test:

Just my 2 cents worth.

That’s not really a bad burn for a 1633 at 16x, better than most actually.

heh, I deal with a lot of backup and lots of dvds I have to send to clients on large file projects… so whenever I buy a new dvd writer, I am trying to get the best media combo to get work done…

if these results can guarantee me that I will never have a client, or myself, find one of the dvd not being fully readable, then that’ll work :wink:

but there must be some media at 16x that do better? any suggestions? what about other firmware hacks? using another burn setting for my RitekR04? I know on my 8x liteon I had to make the drive believe it was r05 for r06, or r04 for r05… don’t rememmber anymore, but it made a world of a difference… anything like that?

If you want dependable discs, don’t burn at 16x (especially on a LiteOn). Stick with 8x on the 1633 and use only top quality media like TY, MCC or Maxell. Try one of the Ritek at 8x and see how it looks, I bet you’ll be pleased.

Yo-

The Verbatim 16x -R’s got a very good review elsewhere in here (do a search)-