Ritek +R 8X R03s, officially JUNK

I just got a look at the last batch of Ritek R03s from Newegg and I wondered how they could have declined in quality so badly and so fast. The last batch I had was no great disc but these had PIE errors in the 60s with totals near 200,000 and PIF totals near 2000 with a few peaks near 10.

Then I saw where they were manufacturered: China.

Any potential users of Ritek should watch out for a change like this. R03s used to be half decent. I have never seen anything from China worth the time to burn it.

I am going to borrow a few and try some different burns. I’ll post back a scan if I can find any way to burn these without embarassment.

I could have told you that :p. In fact I’ve been warning people of those discs for a couple of months now, both the RICOHJPN R02 and RITEK R03 discs in those 8x Ridata spindles have been of poor quality for several months now.

More and more, I’m starting to wonder if Ritek is even doing ANYTHING different in their production of RICOHJPN media at this point vs. their own Ritek media. I am honestly starting to wonder if there is any difference in the dye even, or are they simply using the RICOHJPN media code for some of their own Ritek media. About half of my RICOHJPN R02 spindle has visible dye defects of varying degrees, and even those without visible dye defects don’t burn that great. They aren’t coasters, but I get better burn quality from most of my generic discs such as AML002, fake MCC, than I get with most of these RICOHJPN R02 discs… :rolleyes:

Sorry I missed your posts. Usually I see threads listing Ritek media problems but I guess I missed yours. Of course I noted what you said last week, but I have never seen anyone mention Made in China. That puts a whole new face on the matter and I wanted to put people on notice.

Any manufacturer can have a bad run but changing to a factory that makes junk will generally be permanent.