Rip Selected Chapters - Perfect Copies

Does anyone know if it is technically possible to rip a chapter (ex: a music video) bit for bit and save it to a DVD R or RW to play back on a DVD player? (I realize I would need a DVD player which can play DVD R/RW.) I have used all the software referenced in the forums, and find that the quality is excellent, but not perfect … I’m looking for a perfect copy of a chapter (ie: if I freeze the original while playing, I see no distortion of pixels … but when I play the copy, the copy has some distortion in some parts – though the distortion is less noticeable at regular play speed). I think what’s happening is that when the avi is being generated (DVD2AVI), it is not a perfect encoding of the original vob, but I’m not sure as I’m fairly new to all of this.

By the way, DVDXCopy, which I have tested in the same manner produces a perfect copy of an entire DVD, but only for the entire DVD, not for one chapter (there’s no option in the software to do this).

Both SmartRipper and DVDDecrytor can rip out one chapter from the DVD, just Un-select all the others except the one you want. They can also de-mux the vob file to *.mpv and *.ac3 while ripping it, then just author these in Spruceup, Maestro, etc and burn.

Thanks. I have used DVDDecrypter and easily ripped selected chapters, but when I produce the AVI via DVD2AVI and then encode with DivX 5 Pro, the picture quality is good (played on a big screen), but definitely not a duplicate (ie: it’s not IDENTICAL in quality to the orginal, which DVDXCopy seems to have mastered – theirs looks like a bit copier version – it is absolutely perfect).

Are you suggesting that I should use something other than DVD2AVI and DivX 5 for these processes? If so, please let me know which to use and when. Thanks again. I’m trying to learn.

Hey buddy,which DVDXCopy version are you refering to?:confused:

Converting a DVD to DivX will ALWAYS result in a drop of quality.