Reliability for data recording and backup

Hi,

(I had posted this in the Newbie forum, since I’m a newbie :), but I’ve been suggested to post it here)

I’ve been trying to find details on data recording reliability on DVD REWRITABLE media, but can’t find any good source either on the internet or these forums. All those KProbe graphs showing errors everywhere make me freak out, and that’s why I’m asking.

I can see writing +RW discs formatted as UDF makes the “big floppy disk” idea workable (I’m doing it right now) but I have no idea of how reliable this is.

DVD-RAM is usually referred as the best data-oriented media, but its support is not very widespread and I can’t seem to find any information about its future.

Can I really trust DVD media to backup my personal data?

What are the differences between different formats for this task? (Is +RW any better than -RW?)

Is DVD-RAM really the only reliable solution?

Thanks for any help

CM

I can’t give many technical details (I am no engineer), but from what I understand, I can say that if you wish to archive, you should not use +/- RW media. Rewritable media is less chemically stable (I think thats the right way to say it) than write once media (+/- R). RWs use phase-change technology (for CD-R’s the recording layer is a crystaline like chemical that changes “shape” when exposed to a laser, I think i read DVD RWs are similar). This crystaline substance breaks down over time (much faster than the dyes used in write-once media.)

I cannot say if DVD-RAM also suffers from this flaw. The advantage for the -RAM format is it was designed for “random access” like use. That being, like a floppy or hard drive. It also allows for many more “re-writes” than RW media.

At least, that is my understanding of RW/RAM. Feel free to correct me if any of the above is incorrect.

DVD-RAM is DEFINITELY the more superior and robust rewriteable DVD format.
If you need reliable rewriteable DVD media, get a DVD-RAM recorder ( LG ).