Recording on JVC DR-MV1S DVD Recorder

Hello all - I just picked up a DVD recorder from BB… The JVC DR-MV1S was marked down from $450 to $300 because it was a floor model and there was no remote. I figured I would start nice and slow and just burn from VHS to DVD with the unit. The the dubbing goes fine. I have dubbed on Aterra Media DVD-R and the dubbing goes fine, only problem is I am able to playback the DVD on the recorder and nothing else. I have tried it on my cheap Daewoo DVD player that plays everything I throw at it. And I tried it on my Sony DVD burner in my PC and nothing… I also tried to record onto a TDK 2x 25 spindal that everyone seems to use out here and still nothing… My Sony DVD+R RW media wouldnt read in the DVD Recorder so I wasnt able to test on them…

Is it me, the media, or the recorder having issues?

Thanks,

Brian

Nothin?

I am by no means an expert in field of DVD burning. I believe the DRMV1S is a kind of home theater in a box right? My only guess is that it records in some proprietary format that only it can read.

I work for Ultimate Electronics, I can try to get ahold of our JVC rep and see if they know anything about it.

-Vardoj

Vardoj - Thank you very much for your assistance… I dont want to just keep throwing money into DVD-Rs if the problem isnt the media… No, this is not part of a home theater in a box. It was just the unit from BB… It is a VCR/DVD recorder combo… I did buy a spindal of Maxell discs that I figured I would give a try… Let me know if you get any further info…

Thanks,

Brian

Well the Maxwell discs didnt seem to work either. They play fine in the vcr/dvd recorder, but wont play in anything else. I may just return this unit…

Thanks for the help,

Brian

Hi,

Maybe I can help. I have one of these units too. If you wish to record on DVD-R/RW and then play the DVD in other equipment you have to finalise the DVD. I have tried this and it works great on anything which will recognise DVD-R/RW.