Recommendation for new dvd cd writer

vbimport

Hi,

I presently have a PIONEER EXTERNAL DVR X162Q dvd cd writer.

It’s kind of new, but I have not been having any luck getting it work.

All I get is disc writer errors and I’m going through a lot of blanks…bascially when it’s about to write I get a NOT RESPONDING warning, and I don’t know where to begin to know what the problems are I’m dealing with.

I’m using NERO MULTIMEDIA SUITE 10 NERO BURNING ROM with it.

I’m a newbie with this stuff so your patience is appreciated.

Thanks for ALL of your help !

Yours, Mike

Hey Mike :slight_smile:

Maybe with a bit more info, we can help get your Pioneer sorted as well as recommend a new one - that’s if you still want a replacement if we can solve the Pioneer problem. :wink:

Moving onto recommendations - what do you want from a burner (apart from something that works, of course LOL) - LightScribe or no?
What makes of disc do you mainly burn - some drives get on better with everything you throw at them, others can be a bit picky.
Do you want a drive that’s especially good at burning CDs?
Or one that maybe an excellent reader of scratched/dirty discs?

Sorry for all the questions, but it helps recommend the right drive for your specific needs. :slight_smile:

Regarding your Pioneer issues - what brands of disc have you tried (and their rated speed), and what speeds do you generally burn at?

Thanks Arachane, I would still like to solve the PIONEER problem if I can.

1. I want a burner to convert video and audio formats to DVD and Cd, for playback, as well as storing music on as data…

2. I have Lightscribe but I don’t use it…perhaps I will in the future.

3. At the moment, I’ve only used TDK 8.5 double layer, MEMOREX 8.5 double layer blanks, as well as VERBATIM 4.7 dvd blanks, MEMOREX 4.7 dvd blanks, SONY 4.7 dvd blanks, MEMOREX cd blanks.

I burn at a rate that is determined by the software.

1. An excellent reader of scratched, dirty discs would be nice.