Recommendation for capture card

vbimport

I’m looking for a recommendation for a video capture card I can use to convert VHS tapes to DVD. I tried an Avermedia card a few years ago but it never did a good job. I like the comprehensiveness of this guide to capture cards:

…but it’s about 2 years out of date. I’d welcome any recommendations of a capture card with good hardware encoding that can retain as much quality from VHS tapes as possible. It looks like many come with TV tuners as well, which I don’t really need, but I guess it wouldn’t hurt to have.

Hi reynald,

I’m not very experienced with this, but I heard that Dazzle (from Pinnacle) should do the job very well. Also it appears very easy to use.

Hi

Just get a firewire card…

NBK

Before I can recommend anything, I need to know exactly what you want to do.
Do you want to simply transfer VHS to DVD with no editing, no motion menus, and no transitions.

Do you want to be able to do some creative editing, transitions, menus?

Do you want to be able to do frame accurate editing and have the ability to do professional like transitions and motion menus?

I have been using WinFast 2000 Delux for the last 3-4 year ($42) and quite satisfied with it.

Thanks for the clarification question, Rob. I intend to keep my editing pretty basic & functional – just simple chapter menus, with framegrabs for the latter. No transitions; no fancy editing. I look forward to seeing what you recommend.

To convert the VHS video to DVD through the PC and capture card process the worse can be done with no satisfaction you can buy VHS/DVD recorder combo this day for less than $200 and doe dubbing and copying with best quality out come possible.

IMO Try http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815100129

$27.89 and it works. Since VHS is poor quality to begin with, this capture card is good enough.