Really bad DVD-R burn with PX-712A

vbimport

I’m new to DVD burning, but this forum seems appropriate, please bear with me.

I burned 4473 MB of data files to a DVD-R. The burner reported write speeds between 4X-6X and no errors of any kind were reported. This was my first burn attempt using this drive.

After burning, Nero CD-DVD Speed reports numerous file read errors on a file scan and 41.88% bad (red) on a surface scan, most in the last half of the scan map.

Media… TDK 8X DVD-R (TTG02), recommended by Plextor
Drive… PX-712A, 1.05 firmware
Burner… Roxio Creator Classic 6.2.0.134
Tools… Nero CD-DVD Speed 3.55
System… Athlon 2200+ 1.8 Ghz 992 MB ram
OS… XP PRO SP2
Display… NVidia GeForce4MX driver version 4.5.2.3

It seems something is very wrong with this result. Can anyone comment? Media problem? Drive problem? Software problem? User stupidity? Suggestions?

Thanks.
Mark

Hi mjcatt, welcome to the forums!

You might want to check out the Plextor FAQ at
http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=49767

Almost the very first thing in it is “I think my Plextor might be defective. What can I do?”

Have a read of it, learn about running the diagnostic self-test, and how to run disc quality tests with Plextools.

At a quick glance … you are using very good media, the right firmware, and your computer seems up to the job. Check the FAQ and read the 712a manual about performing the self-test and please do report back. Good luck!

Edit: I just re-read and spotted the part about only burning between 4x and 6x. You should get a pretty solid 8x on this media … do you know about DMA (what it is, how to set it) and can you let us know if DMA is enabled for your 712a?

Thanks. I’ll definitely check out the self-test.

Nero Infotool reports DMA ON for the drive. I just tried a fixed 4x write and CREATOR reported a “fixation error” at the end of the burn but have not yet determined what that means. The disk seems trash.