Re-Branded pioneer 108D by Asus

vbimport

hi guys

i have bought a re branded pioneer by asus, it was real cheap.

now my pc reconises it as a asus drive but i want to turn it back to a pioneer so i will have all the firmware options, but i cant flash it with pioneer firmware so what should i do?

i was thinking i need to change the kernal is this right? how would i do this? i am new to all this and so clear and simple instructions would really help.

i am sure its a pioneer becuase when i open dvdinfo it says that it was make by pioneer in the extra info section plus the guy i bought it from said its a 108 and it has the same fetures, 16X daul layer etc etc…

any help will be greatly apriciated.

I haven’t tested it yet, but this firmware is said to have the 108 kernel included, which you will need in any case. Have a look at firmware page before you do anything!

what do you mean have a look at the firmware page before i do anything?

Well, patching a kernel & firmware can end up in a non functional drive if anything goes wrong. Be sure you know how to flash/use flashtools and stuff…You can find the firmware page here. If you have already done things like this, simply forget all the things I wrote :slight_smile:

lol thats the problem i have just downloaded the link you gave me and it seems complicated!

i was wondering if you could do this fo me with remote help or walk me throught it with msn i would really apriciate this, if you have enough time.

I don’t think that it is necessary to hold your hand doing this :slight_smile:

Make sure you don’t have any media in the drive !!!
Also. this is a hacked firmware, not an official Asus or Pioneer one!!! (But it will bring the best out of your drive!!. But consider it is not an official firmware !!)

Here is the important part from the readme:

1/ Download the latest version of DVRFlash from http://pioneerdvd.rpc1.org and extract the executable you
need (Windows, DOS or Linux) in the directory where you